Stop making excuses (part 1)

running-3

The other day I met up with a friend and fellow mom at the park. I noticed her freshly manicured nails and commented how nice they always look. Curious, I asked her how often she gets them done. She thanked me, replied “about every two weeks”, and then quickly followed with an excuse I hear often, especially from mothers; “it is the one thing I do for myself.”

I find myself saying this same phrase. Why?

My answer: we don’t want to appear selfish.

My friend went on to explain how she has gone to the same nail tech for 11 years (that’s a loyal client!) This nail tech has seen her through all four of her pregnancies and much of her adult life.

I have found one of the things I do for myself is exercise, particularly running. I didn’t always enjoy running. In high school it was something I merely did to stay conditioned for playing soccer. Now it is something I merely do for myself. It brings me happiness for a myriad of reasons.

We need to stop making excuses for doing things we enjoy. When I feel guilty I ask myself these three questions:

  1. Does this truly make me happy?
  2. Will it provide a way for others to be happy? (when I’m happy it radiates to others)
  3. Can greater happiness stem from it?

Now go do what makes you happy (without guilt).

Save

Leave a Reply

